FOR GRAHAM…

I really can’t claim to have been close friends with Graham, but our paths did cross on numerous occasions and I feel really lucky to have had the chance to meet this wonderful man.

It could have been a chance meeting outside the infamous Britannia Hotel, Nottingham when Graham was on his way back to a much better hotel, he’d ask me if I had a spare cigarette. It might be when he became the emergency chair of the British Fantasy Society or when I faced him as he was voicing an opinion, with his elegant directness at a BFS AGM.

Dashing around at WFC last year in Brighton, I gently bumped into a figure I almost didn’t recognise, and if Graham noticed my initial surprise he certainly failed to make a big deal out of it.

My most personal encounter, like many others was back in the days when I had more time to indulge in my passion for film. Some of you may recall a limited edition book by Graham entitled ‘Black Dust’ published by Bob Wardzinski and students from Westwood St, Thomas School in aid of the Noabakazulu Charity Project with all proceeds being donated to help ‘establish a bursary for students at the Nqabakazulu School, near Durban in South Africa’.

To Graham…22 October 1954 – 9 September 2014

*I would have published this sooner, but I had to dig in to the archives to find the DVD, the online version was originally posted to ‘fucking’ Myspace!

Leave a Reply

